New Year, New Numbers!

9 a DayHello VeggieHeads!  My name is Anna and I am a South Mountain Veggies customer. Like many of you, my resolution this year is to “Eat Healthier in 2013.” As I get underway, and I’ve been invited by SMV to blog about my  journey. I’m sharing my resolution with the SMV community in the hopes of keeping myself accountable and sharing ideas to help us all keep similar resolutions.

To start, simply “eating healthier” seemed a bit vague to me. A good resolution is specific, so I’ve targeted mine to “Eat More Fruits & Vegetables in 2013.”   Better, but- what is “more?”  So, I’ve settled on ‘Eat 9 Servings a Day of Fruits & Vegetables.’  Much better. Measurable. A goal I can check off my daily To Do List.

Why 9 a day? Because the U.S. Department of Agriculture said so.  Technically, what they say is 2 cups of fruit and 2.5 cups of vegetables. These are regular old kitchen measuring cups—which equals 9 individual servings.  Nine checkboxes on my daily To Do List is easier to manage than counting cups.

There are plenty of other reasons to eat many servings of a variety of fruits & veggies besides “because they said so,” and I hope you’ll join me each week as I explore the challenges and outcomes of getting in my daily 9. Please feel free to comment and let us know how YOU meet your healthy eating goals, and share any ideas you may have. Happy New Year!

Today’s Menu:
I’ll be fitting in my 9 servings today by having my favorite Sweet Potato & Apple Salad (click for recipe) for lunch, improvised Ratatouille for dinner and side of roasted cauliflower with parmesan cheese!

About Anna K Amendolare

Anna, of aka design, is a web designer and digital marketer. She contributes recipes via homeharv.wordpress.com, manages all of the email marketing for HH, and serves as webmaster for Hometown Harvest. When she is not in front of her computer, she enjoys baking, craft beer, and spinning & cycling to burn off those calories.

Leave a Reply

