Game Day Eating!

Spinach, onion, and mushroom packed between layers of flaky puffy pastry.

Spinach, onions, and mushrooms – oh my!

Yeah, the Big Game is still several days away …. doesn’t mean I’m not already thinking about it. Not about the game, or about the million-dollar commercials, no—the best part of a Super Bowl party is the food!  However, I am still intent upon sticking to my 9 A Day. And with all the great veggie-centric snacks out there, it really should be a piece of cake, er…so to speak.  I’m hosting this year, so you can bet there will be lots of veggies at my party, like my Spinach Mushroom Spanikopita. If you’re attending a party, why not bring along a veggie dish? Here’s my plan for getting my 9 servings on Super Bowl Sunday.

I’ve found in my journey to consume 9 servings a day that it is always best to start that 9 off with breakfast.  I’ve been lucky to enjoy strawberries lately. I add a half cup of strawberries atop either pancakes or oatmeal.

You should know by now that salad is my favorite way to knock out multiple veggie servings. However, a salad for lunch serves a dual purpose here: getting in my veggie servings and filling me up so I don’t get carried away at the Super Bowl party later on.

It’s party time! I plan to enjoy crudite with hummus, sweet potato fries, and a serving of Spinach Mushroom Spanikopita. Packed with spinach, mushrooms, and onions, one square definitely counts as a serving of veggies.

Spinach Mushroom Spanikopita

16 oz. fresh spinach
1 tbsp olive oil
1 cup cast iron skillet mushrooms, chopped fine
1 small onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 egg, beaten
8 oz. crumbled feta cheese (or try Crazy Feta, with jalapeno for a bit of kick!)
1 package puff pastry dough
salt and pepper to taste or try Whiskey Island Spyced Salt

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.  Sauteed spinach in olive oil until just wilted. Work in batches, so that spinach is cooked evenly. Set aside. While spinach cools, saute onions until just translucent. Add garlic and cook just 1 minute longer. Set aside.

2. When spinach has cooled enough to handle, wring out excess liquid. Chop spinach roughly.

2. Combine chopped spinach, chopped mushrooms, sauteed onion and garlic in a bowl. Mix thoroughly. Add beaten egg and feta and mix. Season to taste.

3. Line an 8×8 baking dish with one layer of puff pastry dough. Spread spinach mixture evenly over dough. Top with second layer of puff pastry dough.

4. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes, until puff pastry dough is flaky and cooked through.

5. Slice into squares. May be served warm or at room temperature.

What’s your favorite game day snack?

Today’s Menu
I started off my day with strawberries atop my oatmeal. For lunch, I had a small side salad and a 6″ veggie sub. I had a banana slices with yogurt for a pre-workout snack. Dinner was a pepper and onion omelet with homemade hashbrowns.

About Anna K Amendolare

Anna, of aka design, is a web designer and digital marketer. She contributes recipes via homeharv.wordpress.com, manages all of the email marketing for HH, and serves as webmaster for Hometown Harvest. When she is not in front of her computer, she enjoys baking, craft beer, and spinning & cycling to burn off those calories.

Leave a Reply

