Talking the Talk and Eating Chips

Yes, well, it’s all well and good to talk about eating 9 a day, and by default, eating a healthy diet. And it all starts with good planning. And I had a plan. And I didn’t follow it. I came home from a stressful day at work, opened the bag of chips, and plopped down in front of the tv (SpongeBob, if you must know.) And a half hour later, my mood was lifted, work forgotten. And half a bag of chips gone. I had planned on making my favorite vegetable roast for dinner, but that never happened. I was too stuffed from chips. No, potato chips do not count as a vegetable serving. So, I missed my 9.

However, there has to be a learning opportunity here. For one, I really have no business keeping potato chips in the house. If they are for someone else, then someone else needs to be responsible for them and keep them out of my sight and reach. That’s not to say potato chips are off limits. Potato chips from a BAG, that is. But homemade potato chips? Those are a tasty treat that do actually count as a veggie serving.

Potato chips you make yourself taste so much better- no guilt!Homemade Potato Chips

  • 2 lbs potatoes, sliced thin. (You really need a mandolin or an counter-mountable apple peeler/corer for this)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt

Slice potatoes. Bake in over at 400 for 20 minutes, or until crisp.

So how do I prevent this particular slip-up? Have easy-to-eat veggies available and easy-to-make healthy snack recipes at my fingertips. Sugar snap peas plus hummus is tasty and satisfying

Sugar snap peas require no preparation. Two measured tablespoons of hummus and all the sugar snap peas I want is still a satisfying snack to take the edge off of afternoon hunger. And really, a store-bought chip crunch just can’t compare to a fresh veg crunch, am I right?

Today’s Menu
I started off strong. I had sliced strawberries atop my oatmeal. For lunch, I warmed up leftover stir-fry from dinner last night – up to 4. I ate the orange I packed as an afternoon snack. Then work got crazy, I skipped my workout, and it all went downhill from there. I got in 5 servings. If I had eaten my post-workout banana and my roasted veggies for dinner -had I stuck to my plan- I’d have been fine.

About Anna K Amendolare

Anna, of aka design, is a web designer and digital marketer. She contributes recipes via homeharv.wordpress.com, manages all of the email marketing for HH, and serves as webmaster for Hometown Harvest. When she is not in front of her computer, she enjoys baking, craft beer, and spinning & cycling to burn off those calories.

Leave a Reply

