What’s In the Bag?

What’s In the Bag?

Large Bag 3-1-13One of the things I love about Hometown Harvest is the seasonal bag. I find it a challenge to work the seasonal items into my weekly menu. So, what am I going to do with this week’s produce? Well, the Rapini recipe looks tasty, and my bag includes carrots, so that’s a definite.  Avocado + orange is a favorite salad combo for me (try it with an Asian sesame dressing) and you know I love salad for lunch. Finally, roasted vegetables is quick and easy. I’m going to bake my apples and save the fruits for my breakfasts. I’m going to add-on another head of lettuce, Green Leaf, for a bit of variety, and a jar of salsa to give my salad a low-cal, flavorful dressing. I’ll sprinkle fresh chopped cilantro atop my Mexican salad for authentic flavor. I’ve been trying the new soups, too; they’re so convenient and a great way to get my veggies in!

Breakfasts

  1. Eggs & bacon, with an orange
  2. Oatmeal topped with baked apples
  3. Granola  and Greek yogurt topped with blueberries
  4. Pancakes topped with baked apples
  5. Oatmeal topped with baked apples
  6. Granola topped with baked apples
  7. Oatmeal topped with blueberries
Lunches

  1. Romaine + grape tomatoes + celery + salsa
  2. Green leaf + orange + avocado
  3. Green leaf + grape tomatoes + celery + salsa
  4. Romaine + orange + avocado
  5. Split Pea Soup
  6. Curry Lentil Soup
  7. Vegan Black Bean Soup
Dinners

  • 1. Acorn squash
  • 2. Acorn squash
  • 3. Rapini + carrots
  • 4. Rapini + carrots
  • 5. Brussel sprouts + parsnips + beets
  • 6. Brussel sprouts + parsnips + beets
  • 7. Brussel sprouts + parsnips + beets

To make sure I get my 9 servings a day, I’ll add-on bananas and sugar-snap peas (I love those dipped in hummus!) for snacking.

Today’s Menu
I love pancakes for breakfast, topped with sliced strawberries. A tangelo for my mid-morning snack and a banana, post-workout. For lunch, leftover stirfry (onions, mushrooms, peppers, broccoli, & carrot.) Dinner: Spaghetti & Meatballs. More specifically, spaghetti squash and tofu meatballs with homemade tomato sauce.

About Anna K Amendolare

Anna, of aka design, is a web designer and digital marketer. She contributes recipes via homeharv.wordpress.com, manages all of the email marketing for HH, and serves as webmaster for Hometown Harvest. When she is not in front of her computer, she enjoys baking, craft beer, and spinning & cycling to burn off those calories.

Leave a Reply

