Recycling Mesh Bags: Margie’s Wreath

Easter Wreath DIY craft

We have the most creative customers!

Some of you may have seen customer Margie’s beautiful wreath posted on Facebook. She saved the little mesh produce bags every week and used them to make this festive decoration! Check out her instructions below, and share your own creative recycling with us!

For the wreath form I used a 12″ wire wreath frame that I found at our local hardware/variety store (Ayers).  I was trying to find one online so I could send you a photo – the ones I see online have a rounded surface, which would still work, mine was rather flat.  The eggs are just plastic Easter eggs I found at Walgreens, but any kind of plastic eggs would do.

I just wove the bags over and under the various ribs in the frame, tucking in the ends where possible. For the stray bits that wouldn’t tuck in, I used a hot glue gun to glue them down so they would look less raggedy.  Each egg sits in its own nest. To make the nests, I hot glued the ends of three bags together, and then braided them. Once I had a complete braid, I hot glued the remaining ends together. I then coiled the braid in an oval shape on the wreath, and hot glued it in place.  Then I hot glued the plastic eggs in place. Because I only had 6 eggs, I had a couple of bare spots in the wreath, so I made some paper flowers (from the Chicken Socks’ “Make your own paper flowers” book/kit) and glued them in place to fill those in.

Everything is pretty durable, except the paper flowers.  Obviously, if you don’t happen to have this book on hand, you could make fabric flowers out of scraps, or get some fake flowers from a craft store.  The other types of objects you might find in the floral aisle (butterflies made out of feathers, those bird things with wire on their feet (made out of who knows what) would work as well).  I didn’t have any ribbon, but a big ribbon bow could also work instead of the flowers.  The basic woven base could be adapted for other occasions (e.g. use ball ornaments for Christmas, use shamrock if you want a St. Patrick’s day wreath.)

I am so pleased with the way this turned out I am contemplating my next wreath (I still have plenty of bags left, I have been collecting them for a while now :-)”

Well done Margie! We’re proud to fuel your creative projects! 🙂

One thought on “Recycling Mesh Bags: Margie’s Wreath

  1. I almost never leave a response, but i did a few searching and wound up here Recycling Mesh Bags: Margies Wreath | Hometown Harvest.
    And I do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.

    Is it only me or does it give the impression like some of
    these remarks appear like left by brain dead
    folks? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional social sites,
    I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you make a list of all of all your shared sites like
    your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

