Real Food, and Nothing But Real Food…So Help Me!

The following is a guest blog from Kaitlyn, our social media manager, editor, mom of two boys, and devoted Hometown Harvest customer. Follow along as she embarks on a 10-day real-food-only pledge.

Hi there! As the social media worker-bee for Hometown Harvest, I’ve come across some amazing resources in the hunt for information for our customers. One of my new favorites is the 100 Days of Real Food blog by a husband & wife team, who turned their original family challenge into an online community.

reallogo

They committed to completely removing all processed foods from their house and diets for 100 full days, and instead filled their plates, pantry, and fridge with local, fresh “real foods”. Their health improved, as did their understanding of how food is produced and sold. They came up with a clear set of “Real Food Rules“, which include things like eating whole grains, local meats, and nothing with more than 5 ingredients on the label.

I know that many of our Hometown Harvest customers eat this way on a regular basis, and that it is a goal for most of us, especially me. I learned a lot about how to buy and prepare “real foods” after my son was born, but sticking to that commitment has been a little more challenging now that there are two kids and a full work schedule in my life. I decided that I could commit to the 10-Day Pledge and what better way to stay motivated than to share my journey with you, my fellow Harvesters? We already eat most of our meals using “green bag” ingredients, so I’m eager to see how the Hometown Harvest menu supports an exclusively Real Food diet.

I hope you’ll follow along with me for the next 10 days!

About kaitlynhh

I'm a mom of two boys and I love cooking and preserving. As the social media manager for Hometown Harvest, I get to interact with our amazing customers everyday. They are the very best resource for tips and ideas, as well as ardent supporters of local food and our area farmers.

Leave a Reply

