Real Macaroni Makeover: Day 2

The following is a guest blog from Kaitlyn, our social media manager, editor, mom of two boys, and devoted Hometown Harvest customer. Follow along as she embarks on a 10-day real-food-only pledge.

With day one in the books and a feast of goodies avoided at the office (cake! bagels! burritos!), I was ready to take up the REAL challenge of cooking dinner that would fit my 10-day pledge and satisfy my pair of preschoolers. Luckily, I have just such a recipe in my Mommy Bag of Tricks: Colorful Cauliflower Mac & Cheese!

Colorful Cauliflower Mac & Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bag of Gluten-free Veggie Pasta* (3 ingredients: organic rice flour, spinach powder, beet powder)
  • 1 head of cauliflower, steamed
  • 1/3 cup of whole-milk cheese
  • 1/3 cup of whole milk (as desired)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (to taste)

2013-04-02_18-23-29_188(1)Preheat the oven to 400, steam the cauliflower, and cook the pasta. When the cauliflower is tender, add milk and puree in a large bowl with a stick blender (or regular blender) until soft.

2013-04-02_18-27-17_163

Shred some cheese into the puree and add a dash of salt to taste. When the pasta is cooked and drained, stir it into the puree until well blended. Transfer to a baking dish and top with a bit more shredded cheese. Bake for until bubbly and browned on top.

My kids love this version of mac & cheese, and I love that I’m getting them to eat a vegetable! My 4-year-old instructed me to save the leftovers “for tomorrow”…high praise indeed! Goodbye weird, powdered cheeseish boxed mac!

*We do not have gluten sensitivities, but I like to change up our pasta to expose the kids to different grains/textures. Variety is the spice of life! 🙂

Day 1 Menu: Yogurt+strawberries+granola, homemade mung bean soup (from the freezer)+whole wheat toast “croutons”, cauliflower mac&cheese. Trail mix+apple for snack.
About kaitlynhh

I'm a mom of two boys and I love cooking and preserving. As the social media manager for Hometown Harvest, I get to interact with our amazing customers everyday. They are the very best resource for tips and ideas, as well as ardent supporters of local food and our area farmers.

One thought on “Real Macaroni Makeover: Day 2

  1. Pingback: Healthy Mac & Cheese | healthymommyhappybaby

Leave a Reply

