Soup-er Lunch to the Rescue: Day 3

The following is a guest blog from Kaitlyn, our social media manager, editor, mom of two boys, and devoted Hometown Harvest customer. Follow along as she embarks on a 10-day real-food-only pledge.

With some tasty, kid-and-challenge-friendly leftover macaroni in the fridge for dinner, now I needed to focus on lunch! When I’m not managing social media for Hometown Harvest, I work in a lovely day job in downtown Rockville, MD, and I have access to some of the yummiest food trucks and very tempting lunch spots. If I don’t come to work prepared, I just may go off in search of some less-than-real lunch.

What’s my answer? Soup! I’m much more likely to chow down on a warm, comforting lunch of flavorful soup if I bring it with me, so I try to make sure to have a stocked freezer with individual servings of healthy soup. Remember all that chicken stock I made a few days ago? This is how I used the first half of it: Chicken Tikka Masala Lentil Soup.

My favorite Indian dish is Chicken Tikka Masala, so I wanted to mimic the flavors and textures in this soup with what I had in the kitchen. Feel free to add fresh cilantro, coconut milk (unsweetened), or any other “real” ingredients you wish! It’s soup, not science. 🙂

Chicken Lentil SoupIngredients:

  • 4 cups homemade chicken stock
  • 1 chicken (cooked, from making stock, meat removed and chopped)
  • 2-3 cups organic green lentils
  • 1 bag of fresh spinach, washed & chopped roughly
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 pt. grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup homemade tomato sauce (made last summer from bulk tomatoes!)
  • 2-3 tbsp garam masala spice
  • 3 tbsp olive oil or fresh butter
  • 1/2 tsp kosher sea salt (to taste)

I’m lazy! Once I cooled down the chicken stock, I just strained it into a large bowl and reused the same, dirty pot to cook this soup (for FLAVOR). As the soup was cooking, I removed the meat from the chicken and set it aside.

Heat olive oil or butter, then cook onion until translucent (3min). Add tomatoes, garlic, tomato sauce, and garam masala. Rinse lentils, and add to pot. Stir and cook for 1 minute. Add chicken stock until lentils are just covered, then simmer until tender, adding stock as needed (15-20min). Add spinach, chicken, remaining stock, and “wash” the stock container by filling with water and adding to soup. Add another 4 cups of water, and simmer until heated through and flavors have combined. Cool and divide into lunch-sized containers (makes about 10-12 2-cup servings).

Day 3 Menu: Yogurt+strawberries, chicken lentil soup+whole wheat toast “croutons”, cauliflower mac&cheese. Trail mix+apple+orange for snack.
About kaitlynhh

I'm a mom of two boys and I love cooking and preserving. As the social media manager for Hometown Harvest, I get to interact with our amazing customers everyday. They are the very best resource for tips and ideas, as well as ardent supporters of local food and our area farmers.

Leave a Reply

