Homemade Yogurt & “Real” Easy Dressing: Days 4 & 5

The following is a guest blog from Kaitlyn, our social media manager, editor, mom of two boys, and devoted Hometown Harvest customer. Follow along as she embarks on a 10-day real-food-only pledge.

Homemade Yogurt—The Real Food Rules allows for dairy products like milk, yogurt, cheese, etc., which fortunately, no one in my family has any allergies to. We go through yogurt, especially Greek-style yogurt, like Zeus goes through lightening bolts (heh, see what I did there?). However, the Rules clearly state that the yogurts must be UNSWEETENED. Now most people are concerned with the amount of FAT in dairy products and skip right over the sweeteners, but generally speaking, if there is any flavoring or mix-ins at all, there is sugar in some form.

So how can we eat yogurt and still stick to the Real Food Pledge? Well, until Hometown Harvest starts carrying Blue Ridge Dairy yogurts next month, my solution is to make my own! Following this recipe (which I’ve used for a year now), all you need is a crockpot, thermometer, starter yogurt, and your oven light! To make it Greek-style, strain in a colandar and bowl (lined with cheesecloth or paper towels) in the fridge for a few hours. Reuse the liquid (whey) for watering your garden!

“Real” Easy Dressing—In my green bags this week was my favorite salad mix, which usually makes a big salad each for my husband and me. I love to add fresh, raw sugar snap peas to salads in the spring, along with shaved carrots, hardboiled egg, and steamed beets. The wind came out of my sails, however, when I opened the fridge to find that all of our favorite dressings had been tossed in my challenge prep.

Jam to the rescue! Over the summer, we took advantage of the bulk peach special and jarred a big batch of peach-ginger jam. I had used a bit of local honey to sweeten it, meeting the challenge rules perfectly! I scooped out a few spoonfuls in to a measuring cup, added a bit of olive oil, salt & pepper, and whisked together until it was a pourable consistency.

Fast, easy, tasty, and as real as it gets! A nice preview of summer in our spring salads!

Day 4 Menu: Yogurt+banana, homemade chicken lentil soup+whole wheat toast “croutons”, salad w/hardboiled egg & peach dressing. Trail mix+apple+orange for snack.
Day 5 Menu: Yogurt+strawberries, homemade chicken lentil soup, almond butter + apple butter sandwich on whole grain bread. Trail mix+apple for snack.
About kaitlynhh

I'm a mom of two boys and I love cooking and preserving. As the social media manager for Hometown Harvest, I get to interact with our amazing customers everyday. They are the very best resource for tips and ideas, as well as ardent supporters of local food and our area farmers.

Leave a Reply

