…And I’m Feeling Good: Day 6

The following is a guest blog from Kaitlyn, our social media manager, editor, mom of two boys, and devoted Hometown Harvest customer. Follow along as she embarks on a 10-day real-food-only pledge.

Ok guys, right around this time in any new eating pattern, I start getting grumpy. I grumble, snap, and honestly am probably totally un-fun to be around. I am resentful of the tasty stuff YOU are eating, and I demand pity that I can’t have any of it.

Not this time. I was coveting jelly beans early in the week, but by the end of the week I was able to successfully turn down…get this…NUTELLA FUDGE. The thought of the super refined sugar made my teeth hurt just thinking about it, which is NOT a feeling I’m used to regarding Nutella. In fact, I was gobbling up frozen berries and delighting in my sandwich condiment creativity (this time, apple butter and baby salad greens; next time maybe hummus?).

There is a distinct lightness and energy that comes with eating whole, unprocessed foods. As my body adjusts to a purer form of fuel, I find myself craving exercise and performing better while doing it. Instead of driving on Saturday, I ended up biking around 6 miles. Now, who knows how much of this positive feeling is due to the fantastic weather we’re having, but I am glad for the extra energy to enjoy it.

Day 6 Menu: Oatmeal+blueberries, turkey & apple butter on whole grain, cheesy scrambled eggs and spinach. Trail mix+banana for snack.
About kaitlynhh

I'm a mom of two boys and I love cooking and preserving. As the social media manager for Hometown Harvest, I get to interact with our amazing customers everyday. They are the very best resource for tips and ideas, as well as ardent supporters of local food and our area farmers.

Leave a Reply

