I Did It! The Surprising Results: Day 10

The following is a guest blog from Kaitlyn, our social media manager, editor, mom of two boys, and devoted Hometown Harvest customer. Follow along as she embarks on a 10-day real-food-only pledge.

Wow, 10 days went by FAST! And while there were a few harried moments of temptation, I honestly think being stocked up and prepared helped me in the mental game. But enough about that, let’s talk RESULTS! What tangible, concrete results did I enjoy as a result of eating nothing but real food for a week and a half?

  • Weight Loss: While it wasn’t my primary goal, I can’t deny the scale! With no counting calories or hunger, I’m down 5lbs!
  • Reduced Headaches: I tend to get a nasty migraine around the same time every month. I’ve long suspected sugar as a trigger, but I’ve never gone through the steps of experimenting. Amazingly, I’ve had no headaches at all since I started the pledge.
  • Cheaper Food Bill: We usually grab dinner out a few nights a week and hit the grocery store at least once a week. Since eating almost exclusively from my Hometown Harvest bag and my “real foods” pantry, we’ve done neither! Plus I have plenty of food still in the pantry enough soup in the freezer to last for another month’s worth of lunches, so no trips to the store in the next couple weeks, either!
  • Less Trash: My husband and I have always been proud of our recycling and composting habits, but we’ve always had a couple bags of trash each week. By cutting out packaged foods for 10 days, we managed to keep our kitchen trash down to ONE bag in that time period!

My only regret is not attempting this pledge sooner. My next step is to keep it going by acclimating my kids (I see many smoothies ahead!) and husband. And with local meats and dairy products on the horizon from Hometown Harvest next month, I’ll have more time to cook and stock the freezer with ready-to-go REAL FOODS.

Thanks so much for reading along on this little journey, and as a result, Tony & the rest of the gang at Hometown Harvest have something great planned for those of you who may be interested in participating in a similar challenge! Stay tuned for today’s menu email for more details!

Day 10 Menu: Yogurt+strawberries, homemade turkey leek soup, sprouts+greens+snap peas+egg salad. Trail mix+grapefruit for snack.
About kaitlynhh

I'm a mom of two boys and I love cooking and preserving. As the social media manager for Hometown Harvest, I get to interact with our amazing customers everyday. They are the very best resource for tips and ideas, as well as ardent supporters of local food and our area farmers.

Leave a Reply

