Hometown Voices: A new spin on Mac ‘N Cheese!

Join the Ford family, long-time Hometown Harvest customers, as they blog about their adventures in local, almost vegan eating. See how this family of four manages a mainly plant-based diet despite busy schedules and caring for their two young boys.

Cashew Mac & Cheese

A plant-based twist on a family favorite!

This morning, we received our weekly Hometown Harvest delivery.  I decided to whip up something quick and easy.  What’s easier than comfort food? Mac ‘N Cheese! Sticking with a plant-based focus, I decided to use the raw bag of cashews I bought (by mistake) the other day from the food co-op…I thought I grabbed roasted peanuts, but I didn’t look close enough.  What I am gonna do with a whole bag of cashews?  I don’t like cashews—just ask Momma Ford!  …Make cashew cheese sauce?  It’s a healthy alternative to the store-bought cheesy powder macaroni most of us have eaten at least once.

After a semi-successful trip to the park with the oldest son, we made it back home and decided to try making cashew macaroni and cheese as dinner for Momma and me.  After a brief search, I found a quick and simple recipe from The Rawtarian:

Cashew Cheese Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cashews
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt (or slightly less)
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast

Directions:

Load all the ingredients into the blender and blend until smooth.  Add small amounts of water if you want a looser consistency. Boil macaroni or any other short noodles.

I quartered the always delicious heirloom cherry tomatoes from Hometown Harvest and cut up two basil leaves from the front yard.

I honestly wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  I mixed about two heaping tablespoons of the the sauce into the cooked noodle pot and gave it a taste.  After the first tasting, I went for about four or five more spoonfuls.  The ultimate taste test came from Momma Ford.  We had a winner!  You won’t be disappointed with this sauce.

Cashew Cheese Sauce lives on!

For future cashew macaroni and cheese dinners, you could probably add breadcrumbs on top and bake it for a more traditional texture.  Now that I know that this recipe actually tastes pretty good, I could probably make this for the holidays and people wouldn’t really know the difference. The possibilities are endless for expanding on this recipe.

Until the next post!

-Daddy Ford

Leave a Reply

