Eat Your Greens: Shamrock Shake Style!

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and local blogger

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and author of Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen

We’re pleased to share a cross-post from customer, blogger, and health coach Rachel Druckenmiller’s blog, Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen. As a wellness consultant and certified health coach through the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, Rachel uses Hometown Harvest bag ingredients to craft tasty, interesting recipes that are healing and nutritious. Enjoy!

It’s that time of year again – time for all things green and Irish. Time for some signature, seasonal food and drinks. One of my absolute favorite comedians, Jim Gaffigan, even gives the holiday a shout out in one of his hilarious skits:

“How are we supposed to know St. Patrick’s Day is coming up without the Shamrock Shake? Thank you, McDonald’s.”

McDonald’s isn’t my favorite, but I love minty foods as much as the next person (and celebrated just about every birthday of my childhood with a Carvel mint chocolate chip ice cream cake).

To help me make the most nourishing choices, so I can feel my best and most energized, I strive to follow a few food principles from Michael Pollan that simplify what and how to eat for optimal health. Here are 3 of my favorites:

  1. Avoid food products that have more than 5 ingredients.
  2. Avoid food products containing ingredients that a third-grader cannot pronounce.
  3. Eat all the junk food you want as long as you cook it yourself.

McDonald’s Shamrock Shake has a whopping 54 ingredients and as much sugar as almost three 20-ounce Cokes. And I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty sure most third graders would have trouble pronouncing the word, “carrageenan,” one of the controversial ingredients in the shake.

The good news? You can make a healthier version yourself with a few simple ingredients. This is a Shamrock Shake you could enjoy every day…guilt-free!

One of my favorite bloggers – The Detoxinista – created a healthier version of the Shamrock Shake, and I tried it out earlier today (and received hubby approval!). Check out the recipe below.

Healthy Shamrock Shakeimg_3498

Avocado, almond milk, spinach, Medjool dates, peppermint extract and ice go into this minty shake (I promise you can’t taste the spinach – it just gives the shake color!)

Ingredients:

1 cup almond milk
1/4 avocado, pitted
1 handful fresh baby spinach
1/4 teaspoon pure peppermint extract (I started with about 1/8 tsp. You can always add more but can’t take it out!)
5-6 soft Medjool dates, pitted
handful of ice

Click here for the full recipe and directions!

A Shamrock Shake You Can Feel Good About!
A Shamrock Shake You Can Feel Good About!

I’ll have to tinker with it a little bit to get it to be more like a thick “shake” vs. a smoothie consistency, but if you’re looking for something green and minty to celebrate the holiday, try the recipe!

Here’s another variation of the Shamrock Shake on one of my other favorite blogs, Chocolate-Covered Katie. I tried a second recipe like hers with frozen banana (=creamy) instead of avocado and unsweetened full fat coconut milk, but it wasn’t sweet enough. The dates definitely help!

The next time you’re craving a Shamrock Shake, make one yourself! 🙂

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

