Sweet & Satisfying Raw Caramel Apple Dip

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and local blogger

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and author of Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen

We’re pleased to share a cross-post from customer, blogger, and health coach Rachel Druckenmiller’s blog, Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen. As a wellness consultant and certified health coach through the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, Rachel uses Hometown Harvest bag ingredients to craft tasty, interesting recipes that are healing and nutritious. Enjoy!

Ever since I was little, I have LOVED caramel…and chocolate…especially when they’re together. YUM.

Whether they’re from WockenfussRheb’s or Krause’s, homemade dark chocolate caramels have always been my favorite indulgence. There’s just something so amazing about the combination of bittersweet dark chocolate and creamy, buttery caramel!

One of the unfortunate side effects of the typical deprivation and dieting mentality is that we feel like we have to “give up” anything that tastes sweet, savory, or satisfying. At some point, we decided that “healthy” food just doesn’t taste good and that we have to settle for less flavor if something is deemed healthy.

I refuse to give up flavor or sweets! When I cook and bake, I make sure that any recipes I prepare are delicious AND nourishing, even the sweet ones!

I came across this recipe while I was on one of my favorite blogs, Nourishing Meals, and I just HAD to make it (and share it with all of you!).

Make it for yourself, your friends and family or bring it to a potluck. Don’t tell anyone it’s healthy either…they will never guess!

Dip your favorite fruit in it (we used some crispy, sweet organic Fuji apples), and enjoy!

Raw Caramel Apple Dip

Caramel apple dip with yummy organic fuji apples!
Caramel apple dip with yummy organic fuji apples!
Ingredients
1 cup medjool dates, pitted (about 8 to 10 dates)
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
pinch of sea salt

soaking water from dates, as needed

Here’s the full recipe from Nourishing Meals!

Just a few simple ingredients go into this tasty dip!
Just a few simple ingredients go into this tasty dip.
Soaked cashews serve as the creamy base. You would never guess it's dairy-free!
Soaked cashews serve as the creamy base. You would never guess it’s dairy-free!
Medjool dates. These are used to naturally sweeten foods and act like caramel in most of my sweet recipes!
Medjool dates. These are used to naturally sweeten foods and act like caramel in most of my sweet recipes!
About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

