Creamy Chocolate Avocado Fudgesicles!

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and local blogger

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and author of Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen

We’re pleased to share a cross-post from customer, blogger, and health coach Rachel Druckenmiller’s blog, Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen. As a wellness consultant and certified health coach through the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, Rachel uses Hometown Harvest bag ingredients to craft tasty, interesting recipes that are healing and nutritious. Enjoy!

I love finding healthier, homemade alternatives to some of the not so healthy foods I used to eat a lot.

Today I’m going to share how you can make a healthier version of something that was probably a favorite treat of yours as a kid (and maybe even now!)…fudgesicles!

I remember buying 18-count boxes of these babies when I graduated from college and looked at them as a low calorie AND sugar-free treat…bonus…right?

Yum! Homemade fudgesicles!

Yum! Homemade fudgesicles!

Out of curiosity, I just looked up the ingredient list for Popsicles Sugar Free Fudgesicles, and this is what I found:

nonfat milk, maltodextrin, lactitol, polydextrose, cocoa (processed with alkali), sorbital, whey, coconut oil, microcrystalline cellulose, tricalcium phosphate, mono- & diglycerides, guar gum, polysorbate 65 & 80, carrageenan, malt powder, salt, cellulose gum, aspartame, artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, citric acid

Really? Do we need over 20 ingredients in a fudgesicle?? I don’t even know what half of those things are, but I’m pretty sure I don’t need them in my body.

With warmer weather coming (finally!), we experimented with a new creamy chocolate fudgesicle recipe that is dairy free and doesn’t contain any refined sugar. These are really rich because of the avocado and coconut milk, so I wouldn’t eat them every day, but they are a great option for a healthier summer treat!

My husband and two friends had some the other day and said they couldn’t tell the difference between these and the “real thing!”

Creamy Chocolate Fudgesicles (Dairy-Free)

So decadent, chocolately and delicious!

So decadent, chocolately and delicious!

Ingredients

  • medjool dates (pits removed, soaked and then drained)*
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 ripe avocados, peeled and pitted
  • 1/2 cup cacao or cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup or honey (coconut nectar would also work)
  • 1 cup canned coconut milk (or Almondmilk) – I used full fat coconut milk, to make these nice and rich.
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Click here for the recipe from Tasty Yummies!

Ingredients laid out for the fudgesicles!

Ingredients laid out for the fudgesicles!

We bought the popsicle holders at Home Goods, and they were really cheap! You can also order a similar kind online here.

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

