MYO Chipotle-Style Burrito Bowl!

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and local blogger

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and author of Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen

One of the questions I’m often asked is, “how can I eat healthy without going broke or spending hours in the kitchen?”

My kitchen is my happy place, and I love spending lots of time there, but I know that time and patience to cook tend to be on the short side for most people.

That’s why I’m sharing a SUPER simple recipe with you today. It’s cheap, easy, quick AND delicious! 

When I finished making this dish for the first time, my husband Bill said, “You’re done already?”

Yup! It was that quick!

After his first bite, he gave me an “Oh yeah” and said this is one of his new favorite dishes. Success!

If you like Chipotle or Qdoba but don’t want to spend $8/person on a meal, this could be a new “go to” recipe for you. I bet it will become one of your favorites!

So incredibly simple and delicious!

So incredibly simple and delicious!

Here are a few keys to keep in mind when making your own quick and healthy meals, which served as the motivation to test out this recipe!

  • Cook more, dine out less. You will almost always pay more to dine out than to make a meal yourself. On average, a McDonald’s dinner for a family of four costs almost $7/person compared to a dinner based on rice and beans, like this one, which costs less than $2.50/person.
  • Make some of your meals meatless. Meat and dairy products and processed foods tend to be some of the most costly items on a grocery bill. Swapping out meat with beans – even one day a week – can help you save money…and time!
  • Eat vegan before 6:00 p.m. Mark Bittman was given the choice to either go on medication or adopt a vegan diet. He didn’t want to do either, so he started eating vegan before 6:00 and then having smaller portions of high quality animal products at dinnertime. He lost 35 pounds and didn’t have to go on medication. Click here to learn more about his story and book. In the meantime, check out this awesome recipe!

Cilantro Lime Bean Burrito Bowl

IMG_3646

Servings: 4 people

Ingredients

Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette (inspired by this recipe)

  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 2-3 limes)
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, minced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 3/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper (if you like a little heat!)

Directions

  1. Cook beans and rice according to package directions. You may want to do this ahead of time to save time. (I’m a fan of using the microwaveable steamable bags of brown rice for convenience.)
  2. Meanwhile, whisk vinaigrette ingredients together.
  3. When the rice is finished cooking, dump it into a bowl along with the beans, salsa, avocado, and lettuce.
  4. Pour the vinaigrette on top, and toss all ingredients together to combine.
  5. Enjoy!
About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

