Comfort Food Classic Makeover…Creamy Cauli-fredo Sauce

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and local blogger

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and author of Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen

Fettuccine Alfredo.

If I had to guess, I would bet this dish is one of the most popular and beloved comfort foods of all time.

But with a cup of butter, almost as much heavy cream, and over a cup of cheese in a typical alfredo sauce recipe, it’s not something many people can enjoy very often, especially if you’re trying to stay away from dairy or just notice that you feel better without it.

If you absolutely love fettuccine alfredo, my goal isn’t to get you to give it up for good. Instead, I want to introduce you to a new way of preparing a similar dish…one that is a lot healthier but still creamy and comforting!

The main ingredient?

Cauliflower. It’s in season in all the Hometown Harvest bags, and I just showed you how to break it apart quickly and easily.

Cauliflower is a cruciferous, anti-cancer rock star vegetable!

Cauliflower is a cruciferous, anti-cancer, rock star vegetable!

Cauliflower in alfredo sauce?? Wait a minute…how can this possibly taste good?

I have to admit, when I first saw this recipe, I was a bit skeptical…and so was Bill.

I know it sounds kind of absurd…but, trust me, it works!

One of my passions is showing how some of our favorite recipes that might not be so healthy can be flipped to a more nourishing version that is still delicious and kid/family-friendly.

Pouring on the creamy goodness!

Pouring on the creamy goodness!

My ultimate test for knowing whether I’ve made a successful recipe is to have my husband, Bill, try it.

If something we make is nasty, he has no qualms saying so, but if it’s delicious, I usually get an emphatic “oh yeah” or “this is great” (which is a lot coming from him!).

Bill and I were pleasantly surprised by the outcome of this recipe and licked our bowls clean!

Not only does this recipe taste delicious, but it doesn’t use any fancy ingredients and can be whipped up in about 20 minutes.

Creamy Caulifredo Sauce

Creamy caulifredo sauce!

Creamy caulifredo sauce!

Makes 2 cups of sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil or grass-fed butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 12 ounces cauliflower florets
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt, or more to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Click here for the full recipe from a fellow health coach and food lover, The Detoxinista!

We served it with brown rice pasta for a healthier, gluten-free pasta option, and topped it with paleo parmesan cheese.

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

