Stuffed Apricots with Fresh Basil & Pistachios

Mmmm fresh apricots!

Mmmm fresh apricots!

Ok, I went out on a limb today with this one. I had gotten a bag of fresh organic, local apricots in my weekly Hometown Harvest basket and had to figure out what to do with them. This is peak apricot season in our neck of the woods, but these apricots can actually be halved and frozen.

I’ve been a big fan of dried apricots my whole life (especially when they’re really squishy!), but I’ve never actually bought or cooked with fresh apricots until now.

Fresh apricots look like mini peaches but are a lot less messy and easier to handle. I went on Pinterest in search of a fresh apricot recipe and stumbled upon this one! I changed it up a little to add more texture to it. Local basil is abundant this time of year as well, so there was plenty in my Hometown Harvest bag for whipping up this recipe!

The addition of crunchy, roasted pistachios adds another texture to this dish

The addition of crunchy, roasted pistachios adds another texture to this dish

One of the reasons we tend to like certain foods is because of the variety of textures.

Think of a Snickers candy bar.

While it’s not a nourishing food choice, it makes the point. It contains crunchy peanuts, ooey gooey caramel, melty chocolate and dense nougat. The resulting flavor party in our mouth is one of the reasons foods like candy bars are so hard to resist!

In this recipe, the combination of juicy apricots, creamy stuffing, peppery fresh basil and crunchy roasted pistachios gives us lots of textures and flavors and creates an exciting bite!

Stuffed Apricots with Fresh Basil & Pistachios

These little apricot bites are so yummy!

These little apricot bites are so yummy!

Ingredients

  • 6 fresh apricots, washed, dried, cut in half, and pitted
  • 2 tablespoons fresh basil, sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup roasted pistachios, shelled and finely chopped

Cashew Cream Ingredients (Click here for the cashew cream recipe)

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 1/3 cup + 2 tablespoons water (I’ve found this amount of water provides the perfect consistency, but add more if you’d like a more liquid cream)
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Click here for the full recipe. I following the recipe as is and sprinkled the pistachios on top of the cream before adding the basil. It added a nice touch!

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and local blogger

Rachel Druckenmiller, health coach and author of Rachel’s Nourishing Kitchen

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

