Homemade Zucchini Fritters (Gluten-Free!)

Whenever I think of fritters, I’m reminded of a middle school field trip. My class went to a historic inn in Baltimore and learned how to make (and, of course, eat!) apple fritters.  They were SO GOOD!

Well, it’s not exactly apple season (though I will be on the lookout for a healthy apple fritter recipe this fall!), but I did have a bunch of baby zucchini from my Hometown Harvest bag last week, so I wanted to come up with a unique way to use them. In case you missed it, here’s a post about how to make your own zucchini noodles (AKA zoodles!) and zucchini basil pesto.

IMG_5258

I came across dozens of recipes, but I couldn’t seem to find one that I liked (or had all the ingredients to make), so I ended up blending a bunch together to come up with this recipe for zucchini fritters. It was my first time making them, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.

They turned out to have a nice golden crust on the outside and paired really well with an avocado cream recipe that I’ve also linked to at the bottom of this post.

Feel free to change up the recipe and use different herbs and spices based on what you like best!

Zucchini Fritters with Vegan Avocado Cream

IMG_5288

Ingredients

  • 3-4 zucchini (about 2 cups), shredded (I just used a box grater to shred it but you could also use a food processor)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour or quinoa flour (or all-purpose flour if you’re not gluten-free)
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons of chives or green onions, minced
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 heaping teaspoon fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1-2 tablespoons coconut oil

Directions

Line a colander with a dish towel or two heavy duty paper towels. Grate zucchini and place it in the colander and toss about a 1/2 teaspoon of salt over it. Let it sit for 15 minutes to remove the excess water. Squeeze out as much excess water as possible (same method as squeezing the water out of thawed, frozen spinach!).

Zucchini "sweating" on top of a paper towel in a colander/strainer in the sink

Zucchini “sweating” on top of a paper towel in a colander/strainer in the sink

All the ingredients tossed together

Add the zucchini to a bowl with the remaining ingredients

IMG_5273

Heat the coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat. Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup, scoop up the mixture and gently drop the patties into the hot coconut oil. Flatten them out with a spatula. Cook 3-5 minutes or until they begin to brown. Then, flip them over to finish cooking for 3-5 minutes.

Removing any excess oil by placing the patties on a paper towel

Place the patties on a dry paper towel to remove the excess oil and pat them dry.

Serve the patties with this awesome avocado cream (scroll down the page 1/3 of the way for the cream recipe).

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

