Orange Julius Copycat Peaches ‘n Cream Smoothie

The peaches this summer have been the sweetest and juiciest I’ve had in a long time!

Whether we’ve gotten nectarines, yellow peaches or donut peaches in our Hometown Harvest bag, they have all been DELICIOUS and super satisfying.

I will be sad when peach season ends.

IMG_6147

Aside from eating them as a snack on their own, I’ve been putting peaches in a lot recipes like this farmer’s market salad and this peachy keen kale salad.

I even baked them in the oven for the first time and ended up with a super healthy, melt-in-your-mouth dessert.

I really enjoy and am always looking for recipes for rich and creamy foods and drinks that remind me of the “mouthfeel” of ice cream, cheese, and milk, but are made without those ingredients.

Check out these cool "donut" peaches :)

Check out these cool “donut” peaches 🙂

When my sister tried this smoothie, she said it tasted like one of the smoothies from Orange Julius…but better!

This dairy-free, vegan recipe is quick and simple and doesn’t require any fancy ingredients. Blending the cashews with the liquid at the very beginning is what gives the smoothie its creamy texture without any milk, cream or yogurt!

I use raw cashews in lots of other recipes to make dips and even cheesecakes creamy.

You have to try this one for yourself – you will be amazed!

Orange Julius Copycat Peaches ‘n Cream Smoothie

IMG_6074

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup raw cashews* (it’s important that the cashews are raw!)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups water (you can use almond milk if you prefer an even creamier texture – I used 1 cup each of water and almond milk)
  • 3 cups peaches (sliced and frozen – or use fresh peaches for a “frothier” smoothie)
  • 1 cup ice
  • Optional (but tasteless!): 2 cups spinach

Click here for the full recipe from Girl Makes Food.

*If you don’t have a powerful blender, you may want to soak the cashews in water for a couple of hours so they blend up better. I would love to know if you try it “as is” without soaking the cashews and how it turns out if you don’t have a high speed blender, so feel free to comment if you end up doing that!

IMG_6102

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

