How to Make Your Own Squash Puree {Step-by-Step Guide!}

I’m a big advocate of eating food that is as fresh and unprocessed as possible.

Sometimes, for convenience sake, I opt for minimally processed versions of certain foods.

Like pumpkin puree.

Most of the time, it’s easier and quicker to buy a can of it to put into my smoothies, muffins, and overnight oats than to make it from scratch.

But last week I got this autumn squash in my Hometown Harvest bag and knew it was time for me to figure out how to make my own.

Most winter squashes (e.g., pumpkins, autumn squash, delicata squash, butternut, etc.) have similar flavors and textures and can be used interchangeably in many recipes.

IMG_6434

Roasting your own squash for this puree gives it a velvety smooth texture and deep flavor that definitely tastes better than the canned stuff!

Step-by-step instructions for how to make your own squash puree!

Preheat the oven to 350F.

IMG_6624

For a round squash, cut off the top (including the stem) with a sharp knife and then cut the squash in half. For flatter squash, like the autumn squash pictured, cut it in half with a sharp knife, cutting one side first and then the other on either side of the stem.

IMG_6625

Break it apart with your hands along the seam you cut.

IMG_6629

Scoop out the seeds with a spoon. Save them to make your own toasted squash seeds (something I plan to do in the future).

IMG_6630

Cut the pumpkin into chunks. I cut along the existing creases.

Cut the squash into chunks. I cut along the existing creases.

Pumpkin chunks ready for roasting!

Squash chunks ready for roasting!

Put the pumpkin slices on a baking sheet and roast for 45-60 minutes or until you can easily pierce the pumpkin with a fork.

Put the squash slices on a baking sheet and roast in a 350F oven for 45-60 minutes oven or until you can easily pierce the squash with a fork.

Pumpkins are done roasting when they look like this.

Slices are done roasting when they look like this.

Let the slices cool and then take a spoon and scoop out the “meat” from the rind.

Let the slices cool on a plate and then use a spoon and scoop out the “meat” from the rind.

Puree all of the pumpkin in a food processor until smooth.

Puree all of the squash in a food processor until smooth.

IMG_6733

Use the puree immediately OR measure out 1-cup servings and put the puree in freezer bags, squeezing out all of the air, so it’s ready to use whenever you need it in the future. Follow the step-by-step process below!

Remember to put an autumn squash in your Hometown Harvest bag this week!

IMG_6737IMG_6740IMG_6742IMG_6744IMG_6746

Once you have your puree ready, try using it in this Ultimate Pumpkin Pie Smoothie Recipe or Pumpkin Pie Overnight Oats.

What’s your favorite way to use winter squash? Are you looking for any pumpkin recipe ideas? Feel free to leave a comment below to let us know 🙂

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

