Curried Red Kuri Squash {What It Is & How to Cook It}

IMG_7168Remember learning about “homophones” in grade school?

I was a bit of a nerd about the English language (12 years of Catholic schooling will have that effect on you!), so I clearly recall lessons about homophones.

They’re two words that sound the same but are spelled differently.

Like kuri….and curry.

Totally different spelling – same pronunciation. No wonder English is so hard to learn!

IMG_7281

So, what the heck is red kuri squash...and what do you do with it?

  • It looks like a small red-orange pumpkin but without the ridges.
  • It can be cooked and eaten with the skin on (yay for saving a step and not having to peel it!).
  • It’s loaded with filling fiber, and vision/heart/immune-boosting vitamins.
  • Its golden-orange flesh is slightly nutty and sweet.
  • You can roast it, puree it into a soup, or braise it – which is what I did today!

This was my first time making kuri squash, but I just followed the same process of breaking down any other squash – cut off the top (stem) and bottom ends, cut it in half, scooped out the seeds, and then chopped it up.

I think you’ll really like this recipe and the others included below as you try kuri squash for what might be the first time! 🙂

curried kuri

Ingredients

  • 1 red kuri squash, halved, seeds removed, chopped into 1-inch chunks
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil (or grass-fed butter)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • ½-2/3 cup water

Directions

  1. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the oil, followed by the squash, and cook for a few minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Stir in the garlic, curry powder, cayenne pepper and cinnamon, then add ¼ inch of water (~1/2 – 2/3 cup) to the skillet and bring it to a boil.
  3. Once it’s boiling, cover the skillet and reduce the heat to a simmer (low heat). Cook until the squash pierces easily with a fork, about 15-20 minutes.
  4. Drain off any excess liquid (I had some extra) and then taste and season with sea salt.

IMG_7468

Looking for more kuri squash recipes? Try one of these!

 

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

