Roasted Kabocha Squash & Cremini Mushrooms

Roasted Kabocha

I first tried kabocha (ka-BOTCH-a) squash last year when my husband and I were browsing through one of our favorite cookbooks – Clean Food. The recipe was for a stuffed kabocha squash, and it was heavenly!

I love squash that I don’t have to peel (since that can be a bit of a pain), and kabocha squash is one you can enjoy in its wholeness – skin and all!

Today’s post features another recipe from Terry Walters, author of the Clean Food cookbook and a fellow graduate of my health coaching training program. Her cookbooks focus on eating real, whole, seasonal food.

Kabocha Squash Collage

This recipe combines three of my favorite things – kabocha squash, mushrooms, and fresh fall herbs (especially sage!).

Kabocha squash, also known as a Japanese pumpkin, has an edible dark green skin covering a deep orange flesh and cooks up a bit sweeter than butternut squash. It’s one of my favorite squash, but it has a short season, so I try to take advantage of it while I can.

This dish also contains a couple of the best GBOMBS foods we can eat, including mushrooms and leeks. GBOMBS are the highest nutrient foods we can eat and are anti-cancer, anti-fat storage foods. Click here to read more about GBOMBS and how you can add more of them to your diet.

Roasted Kabocha

Ingredients

2 small or 1 large Kabocha squash
2 leeks*, sliced lengthwise and cut into 1/2-inch strips (cut off the dark green top!)
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted OR extra virgin olive oil (I use coconut oil for high heat recipes, since it’s more heat stable)
1 teaspoon coarse sea salt
1 pound cremini mushrooms, wiped clean (leave the whole)
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, minced
1 tablespoon fresh sage, minced

This squash tastes even better the second day, heated up on the stovetop in a bit more coconut oil, some black pepper, and a touch more balsamic. You may also find that you want to toss it in a little extra oil and vinegar when you take it out of the oven the first time to restore some of the moisture.

*I found that the leeks burned when I put them in right away, as the recipe suggests, so I would recommend putting them in after the first 10 minutes instead of at the very beginning of cooking. You could also try lowering the oven temperature to 400F to see if that makes a difference.

For the full recipe click here.*

Here are a few more recipes that feature this sweet & delicious squash!

  1. Stuffed Kabocha Squash 
  2. Kabocha Squash Ice Cream with Maple Roasted Pecans
  3. Roasted Kabocha Squash Bowl with Autumn Vegetables
About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

