Ridiculously Easy Roasted Rutabaga Fries

Whenever I hear the word “rutabaga,” it reminds me of the mispronunciations of Daniel “Rudy” Ruetigger’s last name in the movie Rudy (totally worth taking the time to watch by the way – it’s really inspiring!).

Here are some cool things I’ve learned about this lesser known veggie!

  • It’s a cross between a turnip and cabbage and is known as a “swede” everywhere else in the world.
  • It’s from the brassica (AKA cruciferous) vegetable family, so it naturally contains lots of healthy nutrients and cancer-fighting compounds.
  • It takes on a sweet flavor when cooked – kind of like a turnip or parsnip.
  • It is less starchy than a potato but offers a similar texture when cooked or mashed, though it won’t get as crunchy as potatoes when roasted.
  • It’s pronounced ROO-da-bay-ga. 🙂

The only reason I had rutabagas in the first place was because they were part of my weekly produce delivery and I didn’t want them to go to waste!

Whenever I come across a food I’ve never cooked before, I do one of three things:

  1. Flip through the index of my favorite cookbooks.
  2. Search for recipes on Pinterest.
  3. Use what I learned from other recipes and apply those same methods to a new food. In other words, if I’ve roasted one root vegetable (potatoes, sweet potatoes, turnips, parsnips, etc.), then I can probably roast another root vegetable (rutabaga!), so that’s just what I did.

Ridiculously Easy Roasted Rutabaga Fries

Rutabaga fries roasting in the oven! YUM!

Rutabaga fries roasting in the oven!

Ingredients

  • 2 medium rutabagas, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil, ghee (clarified butter), or grass-fed butter
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme (or 1-2 teaspoons fresh)
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary (or 1-2 teaspoons fresh)
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Cut the ends off the rutabagas and peel the skin off with a vegetable peeler.
  3. Slice them into 1/4-inch round disks and then cut them into strips, as pictured above.
  4. Toss them together with the oil and herbs and spices.
  5. Spread them out on a baking sheet (make sure they don’t touch or get overcrowded, as that will cause them to get mushy rather than roast. Use 2 baking sheets if you have to!).
  6. Roast for about 20-25 minutes, flipping them halfway through, so they don’t burn. They’re done when you can easily pierce them with a fork.
Yummy herbed rutabaga fries!

Yummy herbed rutabaga fries!

About racheldruck

I love to cook, and I am passionate about spreading the message of how delicious, simple and nourishing real food can be. Check out my blog for posts on healthy recipes, tips and tricks, and lessons learned on my healthy eating journey! I'm passionate about educating, teaching and equipping you with the skills, tools and inspiration to live a purposeful, energized life! I live in Baltimore with my husband, my college sweetheart, and work as a wellness consultant and health coach. I also teach healthy cooking classes. I love what I do!

Leave a Reply

