Use ‘Em Up: Zucchini Crab Fries

Please enjoy our newest guest series from Coach Sarah K., wellness expert, health coach, and Hometown Harvest customer! Her recipes and hints will help you use your bag items to maximize the healthy impact of eating local!

Bag items: zucchini, eggs, gluten-free bread

As a non-native to the area, I had only ever had Old Bay once or twice maybe on summer beach vacations with my family. Upon moving to Maryland, I learned that it is almost as important a condiment as salt and pepper! I started putting it on my homemade oven fries, popcorn, and of course, crab cakes. I have to admit, it’s pretty good stuff. It’s also much more versatile than one might think at first glance. A dear friend even used it in cookies that were downright addictive. I know, it sounds strange to put it in cookies, but it was the best savory-sweet combo cookie I ever tried!

So when I had a good amount of zucchini from my garden, I decided to try to recreate one of my favorite summertime snacks with a healthy spin: crab fries! Gosh I love those things. Crispy on the outside, soft in the middle, with that unmistakable Old Bay flavor on the outside-YUM! In an attempt to make them a bit healthier, I tried adding some Old Bay to my baked zucchini fries recipe. Using zucchini instead of potatoes saves nearly 100 calories per serving, not to mention the calories saved by baking instead of frying the vegetable!

Here are my stations:

Zucchini_prep

First flour and dip into the beaten egg:

Zucchini_eggwash

Then egg it again and into the breadcrumb mixture:

Zucchini_breadcrumbs

Then put them on a cooling rack and onto a baking sheet:

Zucchini_readyforoven

And that’s it!

Zucchini_final

These turned out really well! I love that the zucchini fries stay crispy and don’t make the veggie turn into a pile of mush. So I highly encourage anyone interested in feeding a French fry addiction to try this much healthier and still delicious version!

Zucchini Crab Fries

2 large zucchini, sliced into sticks

1 egg, beaten

½ c. all purpose flour (or gluten-free baking mix)

1 c. panko bread crumbs (for gluten-free option, just toast some of your favorite gluten free bread, then process into crumbs in the food processor)

½ tsp salt

¾ tsp Old Bay

Instructions:

  • Pour flour into a shallow bowl or plate, then pour panko and seasonings onto another shallow bowl or plate.  Gently mix the panko and seasonings until well combined.
  • Take each zucchini stick, dip in the beaten egg, then the flour, then back in the egg, then into the panko mixture.
  • Place each coated zucchini stick on a cooling rack, then place the rack on a baking sheet. This lets it get crunchy all around, though if you don’t have a cooling rack to use, you can just put them right on a prepared baking sheet.
  • Bake at 425 degrees for 17-20 minutes. I like mine extra crispy and crunchy, so I let them go the full 20 minutes.
Leave a Reply

