How to Use Make Use of Wrinkled Bell Peppers

Tell me if this sounds familiar: you order some bell peppers from Hometown Harvest because you know how delicious they are, and then the delivery comes, and you store them in the fridge to keep them happy and last as long as possible. Life happens, then one day, you find those once-crispy and fresh looking peppers hiding behind the yogurt, and they are a wrinkly, sad-looking bunch. Then you think, “Ugh, I hate when I let this good stuff go to waste” as you toss it in the trash. Well guess what??? I have a solution for you!!!

I kept losing peppers in my fridge and then finding them and being disappointed that they weren’t salad material anymore. Finally, I thought, there has to be something I can do with these…why not try roasting? I love roasted red peppers in everything from sandwiches to salads, so I figured it was worth a try. Well, it worked out great, and now I am no longer wasting peppers that I don’t get to eat in time!

It’s really very easy to do too! Follow along here:

Here are the sad peppers I found behind the yogurt:

peppers1

Not moldy, not inedible, but past their crispy salad using time.

Wash and dry them, then place on a baking sheet covered in foil:

peppers2

Roast them in the oven for 30 minutes at 450 degrees, flipping the peppers on their side once about halfway through.

And they will come out looking like this:

peppers3

When they come out of the oven, immediately cover them in more foil.  I actually just wrapped all of them in the foil sheet that they had cooked on.  Wrapping the peppers in foil will help the skin peel off more easily.  The foil packet looks a little weird, but good things are happening in there.

peppers4

Then after 20 minutes, take them out of the foil.  The skin should peel off easily:

peppers6

Then just slice them up:

peppers7

And enjoy!  I put mine on a piece of bread with goat cheese and HH’s fall harvest lettuce mix.  Still warm, the peppers tasted delicious!

peppers8

Leave a Reply

