How to Revive Wilted Lettuces and Greens

IMG_1930

I am guessing I’m not alone in this, so tell me if it sounds familiar: you order greens from HH because you have a solid week of healthy meals planned, and you’re feeling good.  You order your produce from HH, and then wait excitedly for your delivery day.  Delivery day comes, and you put everything in the fridge.  Somehow, life happens, and when you get to the greens, with visions of yummy salads dancing through your head, your greens are…less than appetizing, shall we say?

This happens to me more than I’d like to admit!  The greens dry out a bit in the fridge, then they are limp and sad looking when you get to them.  No mold, nothing scary growing on there.  Just limp!
FullSizeRender-1
BUT wait!  Don’t throw them out!  You can absolutely revive them with a little TLC and some ice water, and here is how that might go:
So I had some kale and fresh arugula in my fridge.  I planned on making an arugula grapefruit salad with goat cheese and pistachios.  I was pumped.  I picked up the arugula bunch, and it promptly fell to the side limply when I did.  Sadness.  Start by cutting off the ends of the dried out/limp greens.
IMG_1919
Then fill a big bowl or pan with water and some ice.
IMG_1920
Toss your greens in there, and swish them around, making sure the bottoms, where you cut, are underwater.
IMG_1921
Let them hang out for a good 15-20 minutes.
IMG_1926
Fish the leaves out of the ice bath, and let them drip onto a paper towel.  VOILA!  Crisp, fresh, crunchy arugula leaves, perfect for my grapefruit salad!
IMG_1928
IMG_1936
Leave a Reply

