Cape Gooseberries, Two Ways!

FullSizeRender-7

If you got cape gooseberries in your bag this week and weren’t sure what to do with them, I’ve got you covered!

FullSizeRender-4

These pretty little gems look like yellow-orange cherries, and they have a similar texture, but with lots of tiny seeds inside. Go ahead and eat the seeds though! Their oils are the source of lots of antioxidants, and the berries as a whole are a good source of vitamins A and C.

FullSizeRender-1

If you’re thinking, “that’s nice, but what do I do with them,” again, I have you covered! I actually have you covered twice because I have two ways to use them, both sweet and savory. They actually lend well to both uses, as the flavor is slightly tart but not overwhelmingly so.

FullSizeRender

The first use was in a salad with this week’s sweet and spicy greens mix! I used that as my base, then added the gooseberries, some cashews, a sprinkle of feta, some avocado, and a little lemon juice, and it was mmm mmm good. The combination of lemon with the greens helps your body absorb the iron in the greens better, and it’s also pretty tasty, so dig in!

FullSizeRender-6

 

The second was in a crumble.  Three cheers for dessert!

FullSizeRender-5

I took my favorite blueberry crumble recipe, and instead of blueberries, I halved the gooseberries and let them macerate in some sugar for a few minutes.

FullSizeRender-3

Then I mixed up my crumble topping (2 Tbsp flour, 2 Tbsp brown sugar, 2 Tbsp oats, 1.5Tbsp butter), and put it on top, then baked in a 375 degree oven for 40 minutes. That topping made enough for two individual gooseberry crumbles, and they were deeeeelicious.

FullSizeRender-2

Comment below and let us know how you like to use gooseberries!

One thought on “Cape Gooseberries, Two Ways!

Leave a Reply

