Asparagus, two ways!

IMG_2060

FullSizeRender-5

Asparagus for breakfast and lunch?  Yes please!

I’m a big fan of batch cooking.  I like to roast or grill a big bunch of asparagus, then use it throughout the week, if it lasts that long (usually doesn’t, truth be told).  Well, I got a little carried away with it, but it turned into a good thing: asparagus for breakfast and lunch.  It was incredibly easy, which is really a requirement for me, since I tend to go from zero to starving in a very short amount of time, so quick meals really help keep the hanger to a minimum!

I grilled a bunch of asparagus, then made a quick breakfast with an egg on top.  I was tempted to put both the asparagus and egg on avocado toast, but alas, the hanger won out, and I just ate it as pictured 🙂  Still good!

IMG_2058

Wait for it…

IMG_2059

Runny yolk with grated parmesan and asparagus spears!

Then lunchtime rolled around, and I wanted to use the ridiculous amount of leftover asparagus, so I used my veggie peeler and shaved it into these pretty little strips, then tossed it with lemon juice, olive oil, feta, and pine nuts.  I had only grilled the asparagus for a minute or two on each side, so it was still nice and crunchy, and it worked well in the salad.

FullSizeRender-4

FullSizeRender-8

 

FullSizeRender-3

All that’s here is 3 stalks of shaved asparagus, a tablespoon each of pine nuts and feta cheese, 2 teaspoons of lemon juice, and a teaspoon of olive oil.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

